Resources

OBJECTIVE REFERENCE GUIDES

Books

College Handbook, The College Board
Four Year Colleges, Peterson’s
Four Year College Admissions Data: Index of Majors and Sports available from Wintergreen Orchard House

Websites

University and College Accountability Network at www.ucan-network.org
National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities at www.naicu.edu
College Results Online at www.collegeresults.org

SUBJECTIVE REFERENCE GUIDES

Books

The Best 371 Colleges, Princeton Review
Big Book of Colleges, College Prowler
Colleges That Change Lives: 40 Schools That Will Change the Way You Think About Colleges, Loren Pope
Colleges with a Conscience: 81 Great Schools with Outstanding Community Involvement, Princeton Review
Fiske Guide to Colleges, Edward B. Fiske
The College Finder: Choosing the School That's Right for You, Steven Antonoff
The Insider's Guide to the Colleges: Students on Campus Tell You What You Really Want to Know, Yale Daily News Staff

Websites

Unigo at www.unigo.com
Colleges of Distinction at collegesofdistinction.com
College Prowler at www.collegeprowler.com

SUBJECTIVE MATERIALS ABOUT THE ADMISSION PROCESS

Books

College Unranked: Ending the College Admissions Frenzy, Lloyd Thacker
The Gatekeepers, Jacques Steinberg
Harvard Schmarvard, Jay Matthews
I’m Going to College — Not You! Jennifer Delahunty, editor
Less Stress, More Success: A New Approach to Guiding Your Teen Through College, Marilee Jones and Kenneth Ginsburg
Going Geek: What Every Smart Kid (and Every Smart Parent) Should Know About College Admissions, John Carpenter

Websites

The Choice, Jacques Steinberg at thechoice.blogs.nytimes.com
Class Struggle, Jay Mathews at www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/class-struggle
The Education Conservancy at www.educationconservancy.org

GENERAL ADMISSION INFORMATION

Websites

College.gov at www.college.gov
College Board at www.collegeboard.org
High School Counselor Week www.Hscounselorweek.com
knowhow2go at www.knowhow2go.org
National Association for College Admission Counseling at www.nacacnet.org
The Common Application at www.commonapp.org
International Baccalaureate at www.ibo.org
Advanced Placement at www.collegeboard.org
College Fairs Online at www.collegeweeklive.com
Collegiate Choice Walking Tours Videos at www.collegiatechoice.com
Campus Tours at www.campustours.com
NACAC National College Fairs at www.nacacnet.org
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool at http://ope.ed.gov/security/

COLLEGE DATA

Websites

College InSight at www. college – insight.org
College Navigator at www.nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator
National Survey of Student Engagement at www.nsse.iub.edu

TESTING INFORMATION

Websites

ACT at www.ACT.org
SAT at www.Collegeboard.org
Fair Test at www.fairtest.org

TESTING INFORMATION FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS

Websites

International English Language Testing System at www.ielts.org
TOEFL at www.ets.org/toefl
Pearson Test of English at www.pearsonpte.com

FREE PRACTICE TESTS AND TEST PREPARATION

Websites

ACT Sample Test at www.actstudent.org/sampletest/index.html
Number2 at www.number2.com
SAT College Board Practice Test at www.sat.collegeboard.org/practice/sat-practice-test
Spark Notes SAT Practice Test at testprep.sparknotes.com/testcenter/newsat

SPECIAL INTERESTS

Learning Differences

Books

K&W Guide to Colleges for Students with Learning Disabilities or ADHD, Marybeth
Kravets and Imy Wax
The College Sourcebook for Students with Learning and Developmental Differences by
Midge Lipkin

Websites

Association on Higher Education and Disability at www.ahead.org

National Center for Learning Disabilities at www.ncld.org

The Arts

Books

College Guide for Performing Arts Majors 2009: The Real – World Admission Guide for
Dance, Music, and Theater Majors, Carole Everett

Websites

National Portfolio Day at www.portfolioday.net

ATHLETICS

Books

Four Year College Admissions Data: Index of Majors and Sports available from Wintergreen Orchard House

Websites

NCAA at www.ncaa.org
The NAIA Eligibility Center at www.Playnaia.org

GAP YEAR

Books

Before You Go: The Ultimate Guide to Planning Your Gap Year Tom Griffiths
The Complete Guide to the Gap Year Kristin White
Gap Year Guidebook 2013  Wendy Bosberry – Scott
The Gap Year Advantage Karl Haigler and Rae Nelson

Websites

American Gap Association at www.americangap.org
Americorps at www.americorps.gov
City Year at www.cityyear.org
CIEE Gap Year Programs at www.ciee.org/hsabroad/gap/index.html
gapyear.com at www.gapyear.com
Global Volunteers at www.globalvolunteers.org
Global Citizen Year at globalcitizenyear.org
USA Gap Year Fairs at www.usagapyearfairs.org
Where There Be Dragons at www.wheretherebedragons.com

SELECTIVE SUMMER PROGRAMS

Websites

Telluride Association Summer Program (TASP) at www.tellurideassociation.org
National Hispanic Institute at www.nhi-net.org
College Horizons Program for Native Americans at www.collegehorizons.org
Massachusetts Institute of Technology MITES at web.mit.edu/mites

SEMESTER PROGRAMS

Websites

CITYterm at the Masters School in New York at www.cityterm.org
The Mountain School of Milton Academy at www.mountainschool.org
United World Colleges at www.uwc.org

FINANCIAL AID RESOURCES

Websites

College Board at www.collegeboard.org
College Goal Sunday at www.collegegoalsundayusa.org
FAFSA at www.fafsa.ed.gov
Fastweb at www.fastweb.com
FinAid at www.finaid.org
Federal Student Aid at studentaid.ed.gov
CSS/Financial Aid PROFILE at profileonline.collegeboard.org
Paying for College at www.consumerfinance.gov/payingforcollege/

FINANCIAL AID FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS

Websites

The Association of International Educators (NAFSA) at www.nafsa.org
eduPASS: The Smart Student Guide to Studying in the USA at www.eduPASS.org

FINANCIAL AID CALCULATORS

Websites

College Board at www.collegeboard.org
FinAid Calculators at www.finaid.org/calculators
Sallie Mae Affordability Analyzer at www.collegeanswer.com/paying
FAFSA4caster at studentaid.ed.gov

SCHOLARSHIPS

Websites

College Greenlight 
College Scholarships.org
College Board Scholarship Search at apps.collegeboard.org/cbsearch_ss/welcome.jsp
FastWeb
FinAid’s Major – Specific Resource at www.finaid.org/otheraid/majors.phtml
Meritaid at www.meritaid.com
Moolahspot at moolahspot.com
Peterson’s Award Database at www.finaid.org/otheraid/majors.phtml
Scholarships.com at www.scholarships.com
Scholarships4students.com at www.scholarships4students.com
ScholarshiPedia at www.scholarshipedia.org/
SchoolSoup
The Web-based Naviance system features a scholarship search service powered by Sallie Mae.

Scholarship Programs

Air Force ROTC at www.afrotc.com
Army ROTC at www.goarmy.com
Coca-Cola Scholarship Foundation at www.coca-colascholars.org
Davidson Fellows Scholarship at www.davidsongifted.org/fellows/
Gates Millennium Scholarship at www.gmsp.org
Intel Science Talent Search at http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/education/competitions/science-talent-search.html
Microsoft University at http://careers.microsoft.com/careers/en/us/internships-scholarships.aspx
Navy ROTC at http://www.nrotc.navy.mil/scholarship_criteria.aspx
Nordstrom Scholarship Program at http://shop.nordstrom.com/c/nordstrom-cares-scholarship
Ronald McDonald House Charities U.S. Scholarship at http://www.rmhc.com/what-we-do/rmhc-u-s-scholarships/
SMART Scholarship at http://smart.asee.org/
Tylenol Future Care Scholarship at http://www.tylenol.com/news/subptyschol
UCF/Merck Science Initiative at http://umsi.uncf.org/

LOAN INFORMATION

Websites

Avoiding Deceptive Student Loan Offers at www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre43.shtm
Parent PLUS Loan at www.parentplusloan.com
Stafford Loan Website at www.staffordloan.com

SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS OF COLOR

Websites

200 Free Scholarships for Minorities at blackexcel.org/200-Scholarships.html
100 Black Men of American, Inc. at 100blackmen.org
American Indian College Fund at collegefund.org
Hispanic Scholarship Fund at hsf.net
Ron Brown Scholar Fund at ronbrown.org
Latino College Dollars latinocollegedollars.org
La Raza Youth Leadership larazayouth.com

UNDERRESOURCED STUDENTS

Books

College Access & Opportunity Guide, Center for Student Opportunity

Websites

Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) at www.avid.org
Center for Student Opportunity (CSO) College Center at www.csocollegecenter.org
College Goal Sunday at www.collegegoalsundayusa.org 
College Greenlight at www.collegegreenlight.com
Jack Kent Cooke Foundation at www.jkcf.org
National College Access Network at www.collegeaccess.org
You Can Go at http://youcango.collegeboard.org/

SPANISH – LANGUAGE RESOURCES

Websites

Educacion a tu Alcance (Guide to Financial Aid in Spanish) at www.thesalliemaefund.org/smfnew/sections/download.html
NSSE Pocket Guide: Questions to Ask on Your College Visits (in English and Spanish) at nsse.iub.edu/html/pocket_guide_intro.cfm
Spanish Language Resource Links (Admissions and Financial Aid) at www.tgslc.org/spanish

 

VETERANS

Websites

United States Department of Veteran Affairs

 

UNDOCUMENTED STUDENTS

Websites

Educators for Fair Consideration (E4FC) at E4FC.org
National Immigration Law Center at nilc.org
Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund at maldef.org
Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund at aaldef.org
Chicano Organizing and Research in Education at ca-core.org/que_llueva_cafe
Dream Activist at dreamactivist.org/faq/education/scholarships/
 

LGBTQQI STUDENTS

Websites

LGBT Scholarship Resource at www.finaid.org/otheraid/gay.phtml
Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resources Center at www.lgbtcampus.org
Campus Climate Index at www.campusclimateindex.org
Point Foundation Scholarship at www.pointfoundation.org

Like our content? Get more delivered weekly to your inbox: